Thailand gradually reopening

Thailand is gradually reopening to tourists in the coming months. The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) reports that the Centre for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has approved a four-phase timeline for the country’s reopening plan. Vaccinated (!) travelers will be exempt from quarantine measures when traveling to Thailand starting November 1, 2021. Negative PCR testing does remain mandatory.

After a pilot phase (October 1-31, 2021) with quarantine obligations, the first phasewill start (November 1-30, 2021) opening up all areas of Bangkok, Krabi, and Phang-Nga, and designated areas in Buri Ram (Mueang), Chiang Mai (Mueang, Mae Rim, Mae Taeng, and Doi Tao), Chon Buri (Pattaya, Bang Lamung, Na Jomtien, and Sattahip), Loei (Chiang Khan), Phetchaburi (Cha-Am), Prachuap Khiri Khan (Hua Hin), and Ranong (Ko Phayam). Four popular beach resorts are already open before (including Phuket, Surat Thani’s Samui, Ko Pha-ngan and Ko Tao, but have even stricter regulations (see

Reopening on December 1, Phase 2 will be extended to 20 other counties that are tourist driven, known for arts and culture, or border destinations. These include Ayutthaya, Chiang Rai, Khon Kaen, Lamphun, Mae Hong Son, Nakhon Ratchasima, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Nong Khai, Pathum Thani, Phatthalung, Phetchabun, Phrae, Rayong, Samut Prakan, Songkhla, Sukhothai, Trang, Trat, and Yala.

The third phase (from January 1, 2022) will mean the reopening of 13 border provinces, including Bueng Kan, Chanthaburi, Kanchanaburi, Mukdahan, Nakhon Phanom, Nan, Ratchaburi, Sa Kaeo, Satun, Surin, Tak, Ubon Ratchathani and Udon Thani.

Share this article


This article is written by

Tijn Kramer